Christmas party season has started

.Yeah the month of my departments, the IT department, along with finance one team of the month. One of the benefits of this is that we get given 500 pains to go out and spend however we see fit.

Friday the 13th and there is talking about going out to the staff party. Anybody done is apart from me. Early on in the day I was told that the other Friday when I went out made a complete arsehole of myself and that’s when I decided I need to pull myself away from people.

I think I did it in the right way. I went to the cashpoint, with due £25 I made a donation to the finance department with the proviso being No soft drinks are to be purchased with my money.

“We don’t want your money, we want your company” One of the girls in the finance department said who looked almost genuinely shocked that I wasn’t going. I’ll admit that my heart did sink little bit when I saw her reaction but I made up my mind, hopefully for the best.

My work colleagues were asking me if I was going and I said yes even though I had no intention of going. I carefully laid the seeds of doubt as to if I would be going but promised them that no matter what I would give them a lift home.

To further add to life’s complications I was also expected to go and play darts that night. Something that I was most definitely not in the mood for.

So was my brilliantly curated
Drive home from work, 30 miles
Sit down for half an hour
Drive to my local which is now 10 miles away
Drive darts team to town, 6 miles away

By now the time would be about 8 PM so I will text my work colleagues to tell them that I wasn’t coming. Which I did

Play the first game of darts and at about 915 head towards Tenby. Which is the best part of a 40 minute drive Upon getting a reply to say they wanted to be picked up. Drive them home which takes about another 40 minutes, go back to the park pick up the dance team and take them back to the local. And then finally I get home

I text both my work colleagues and got no reply. I also sent them an instant message using Viber and no reply.

My night ended up being one of three people sat in the pub having a pint

Tl The next morning I did get a message from one of my colleagues but that was about it.

From what I heard so far it was a hell of a night including one of my college stopping stark bollock naked and giving her and his underwear to the woman in case he said she would like to have my company.

To further piss me off on Saturday I got called into work and I was a problem I was struggling with. Once again, nobody replies to any my messages. Even a simple polite “sorry I’m outside can’t help” would’ve been nice but no, I got nothing.

Me on the other hand, I would bend over backwards to help them out if they bothered to ring or text me. Am I expecting too much?

By all accounts it was a fabulous night had by all on one that will have many, many good memories.

My life lesson from this? You know how sometimes you go out just because you think you’re going to miss something. Don’t go out, miss that something and just enjoy the fact that other people are having a good time.

Christmas party season has started

Leave a Reply

